Video Games

I remember when I was younger my mother always yelling at my brother , “stop wasting time playing video games and go do your homework.” My mother would never agree that video games can be a learning experience. I on the other hand would disagree. I think video games are a great way to learn. I think it is important to remember though that too much of anything is not good, but in moderation video games can be a great way to learn. The article discusses the multiplicity of literacy. We tend to define literacy as the ability to read and write but it can also be applied to other domains. In order to play a video game you must be able to understand how to read signs such as images and symbols within the game. Going back to my mother, she thinks learning has to be limited to simply reading text books and listening to a teacher lecture, but in essence we learn everyday without knowing it. In the article he says on page twenty three “We always learn something.” All video games make us think in a different way and also help children think independently and critically. For example some video games help some practice self discipline and definitely help develop motor skills but children at young ages do not see playing video games as learning which is ultimately the best part. The Sims is another game that promotes learning. This games allows one to build a house establish a career and eventually get married and start a family. One must pay bills and make sure they arrive to work on time. This teaches the responsibilities of real life in a computer game. This are all examples of what the article refers to as active learning.

Leave a comment